Meet Our Friend Venancia

unnamed

Venancia is a Rwandan refugee who sews for Amani Kenya

Tell us about yourself…

“I come from Rwanda. I am 34 and have been married for 8 years. My prayer is that one day God will bless us with children.

I will be very happy.”
 –
 
Describe a typical day for you!
“I wake up at 6:00 am. I clean my house, take a bath and leave for work at Amani. I ride on 2 different matatus (buses) to and from work. After work, I get back home. Then, I prepare food for dinner and by 7:30 pm, we retire to bed.”
 
unnamed-1
 How long have you worked here?
 –
“Two years.”
 –
unnamed-2
– 
 
What products do you make?
– 
 “Some of my products are the Tamaduni Satchel, Travel Tote, and Coin Purse. Also the Safari and Kanga Coin Purses as well as the Kanga Wallet.”
 –
Here’s just of few of Venancia’s handicrafts!
 
unnamed-3

unnamed-4

Tamaduni Satchel, $28

unnamed-5

Kanga Wallet, $20

unnamed-6

Kanga African Coin Purse, $10

What does peace mean to you?

“Peace is loving and understanding one another. Being able to live in harmony with one another regardless of where they come from.”

unnamed-7

What is your favorite bible verse?

“. . .I was pouring out my soul to the Lord”
1 Samuel 1:10-15

Shop Amani. Spread Peace.

One thought on “Meet Our Friend Venancia

Leave a Reply

